Warning: strtr(): The second argument is not an array in /home/indiandr/public_html/wp-content/plugins/all-in-one-seo-pack/aioseop.class.php on line 52

Warning: strtr(): The second argument is not an array in /home/indiandr/public_html/wp-content/plugins/all-in-one-seo-pack/aioseop.class.php on line 52

Warning: strtr(): The second argument is not an array in /home/indiandr/public_html/wp-content/plugins/all-in-one-seo-pack/aioseop.class.php on line 52

Warning: strtr(): The second argument is not an array in /home/indiandr/public_html/wp-content/plugins/all-in-one-seo-pack/aioseop.class.php on line 52
Home New Cars Used Cars Car Prices Service Centers Car Dealers Image Gallery Blog Insurance Finance Bikes USA Drives
Upcoming Cars Latest Cars Test Drive Latest News Car Comparison New Car Reviews Used Car Reviews Driving Tips Buyers Guide

2014 Formula Drift Kicks Off on Streets of Long Beach

Formula Drift 2014 season kicked-off the event’s first round at Streets of Long Beach, where Chris Forsberg grabbed the victory behind the wheel of Hankook Tire Nissan 370 Z.

It was reported more than 20,000 spectators gathered at the venue to witness the tire-burning fight on metal wheels.

“It is truly a fantastic feeling to see not only the live event attendance grow steadily year after year, but also the global Driftstream audience,” says Jim Liaw, President of Formula DRIFT. “We pride ourselves in being able to provide entertainment to such a young, engaged and tech-savvy audience.”

2014 Formula Drift Kicks Off on Streets of Long Beach

Second place on the podium was occupied by Kenneth Moen in his Bridges Racing Nissan 240SX, and giving him a tough competition throughout the race Michael Essa turned third in his Yokohama BMW M3.

“It feels amazing to be on top of the podium, especially here at the first round of the eleventh season of Formula DRIFT,” said Chris Forsberg, winner of Round 1: Streets of Long Beach. “We will try to keep the momentum with our new changes and take the championship home.”

In the manufacturers’ category, Nissan took an early lead with 122 points, which was contributed by the top ten drifters who were burning the rubber with the badge of Z or a product of the brand’s S platform. Ford strikes second place with the two drivers in the top-ten, while the BMW concluded on third.

This is not the end; there are six more events to go under the same hat throughout the year, where the next one is going to take place on May 8-9, 2014 at Road Atlanta.

Formula DRIFT Championship Presented by GoPro 2014 Standings After One Round

1Forsberg, ChrisHankook Tire Nissan 370Z104.50 Points
2Moen, KennethBridges Racing Nissan 240SX84.50 Points
3Essa, MichaelEssa Autosport / Yokohama BMW M374.00 Points
4Pawlak, JustinFalken Tire Ford Mustang68.50 Points
5Aasbo, FredricHankook Tire Scion Racing tC52.50 Points
6Wang, ForrestGet Nuts Lab / Hankook Tire / STR Racing Nissan S1451.00 Points
7Bakchis, AurimasFeal Suspension / Nitto Tire Nissan 240SX51.00 Points
8McNamara, DarrenFalken Tire Nissan S1451.00 Points
9Gittin Jr., VaughnMonster Energy / Nitto Tire Ford Mustang RTR39.50 Points
10McQuarrie, TylerGoPro / Mobil 1 Chevrolet Camaro38.00 Points
11Goodin, PatEnjuku Racing Nissan 240SX35.00 Points
12Tuerck, RyanRetaks / Maxxis Tires / Air Force Scion FR-S35.00 Points
13Grunewald, ConradMegan Racing / Top 1 Oil / BRE Chevrolet Camaro35.00 Points
14Mohan, KyleGT Radial / Energy-X Mazdatrix RX-835.00 Points
15Baribeau, MatsGold in the Net Toyota Mark II33.50 Points
16Mertzanis, DennisHyundai Genesis Legato AR133.50 Points
17DeNofa, ChelseaBC Racing / Nitto Tire BMW 3-Series20.50 Points
18Mordaunt, PatrickHyundai Genesis Legato AR719.00 Points
19Kearney, DeanORACLE Lighting SRT Viper17.50 Points
20Gushi, KenGReddy Performance / Scion Racing Drift FR-S V217.50 Points
21Nishida, RobbieAchilles Radial / Bridges Racing Lexus SC30017.50 Points
22Castro, JhonnattanProgreso Nissan 370Z17.50 Points
23Hohnadell, AlecEnjuku Racing Nissan S1417.50 Points
24Saito, DaigoAchilles Radial Lexus SC43017.50 Points
25Rydquist, CarlRoad Race Engineering / Berk Nissan 350Z17.50 Points
26Yoshihara, DaijiroFalken Tire / Discount Tire Subaru BRZ17.50 Points
27Jones, JeffCX Racing Nissan S1417.50 Points
28Landreville, MarcMarc Landreville Racing Nissan S1417.50 Points
29Stoneback, GeoffGSR Nissan S1417.50 Points
30Angelo, TonyTangelo Racing Scion FR-S17.50 Points
31Briggs, DaveAchilles Radial / Turbo by Garrett Nissan S1417.50 Points
32Richter, JeremyJeremy Richter Racing Nissan S1317.50 Points
Round 1: Streets of Long Beach Event Results
1Forsberg, ChrisHankook Tire Nissan 370ZWinner
2Moen, KennethBridges Racing Nissan 240SX2nd Place
3Essa, MichaelEssa Autosport / Yokohama BMW M33rd Place
Manufacturers Championship Standings After One Round
1Nissan122.00 Points
2Ford108.00 Points
3BMW94.50 Points
4Scion87.50 Points
5Chevrolet73.00 Points
6Lexus35.00 Points
7Mazda35.00 Points
8Toyota33.50 Points
9Hyundai19.00 Points
10Dodge17.50 Points
Tire Championship Standings After One Round
1Hankook157.00 Points
2Falken119.50 Points
3Achilles102.00 Points
4Nitto90.50 Points
5Yokohama74.00 Points
6Kenda 52.50 Points
7GT Radial35.00 Points
8Maxxis35.00 Points

Warning: mysql_connect(): Access denied for user 'indiandr_newcar2'@'localhost' (using password: YES) in /home/indiandr/public_html/wp-content/themes/indiandrives/includes/test_drive.php on line 11

Similar Articles

  • No Related Post

Give your Review on this Car

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CommentLuv badge

Warning: mysql_connect(): Access denied for user 'indiandr_newcar2'@'localhost' (using password: YES) in /home/indiandr/public_html/wp-content/themes/indiandrives/includes/other_car_make.php on line 6
Follow Us