Home New Cars Used Cars Car Prices Service Centers Car Dealers Image Gallery Blog Insurance Finance Bikes USA Drives
Upcoming Cars Latest Cars Test Drive Latest News Car Comparison New Car Reviews Used Car Reviews Driving Tips Buyers Guide

Rahil Noorani crowned 2013 Volkswagen Polo R Cup Champion; Yatin Magu wins Junior Category

Rahil Noorani, driver from Mumbai, clinched the 2013 Volkswagen Polo R Cup title after a podium finish in Race 3. Pune driver Gaurav Mehta won an action filled Race 2 of the Volkswagen Polo R Cup to win his first ever race in a competitive series. South African driver Jeffrey Kruger returned to the top step of the podium at the Buddh International Circuit in Race 3 to end the season on a high. Race 2 was red-flagged after young driver Samarth Jaiswal crashed with the car rolling multiple times. Jaiswal walked away unhurt.

Rahil Noorani commented, “Today happens to be my birthday and this is the best gift I could have given to myself. It was a very emotional moment for me. This is my third attempt and previous two times I missed out by couple of points so this is very special and I can say I am third time lucky. The engineers, mechanics and entire Volkswagen team are responsible for this so a big ‘thank you’ to all of them.”

Yatin Magu commented on his Junior title win, “I am extremely glad to win this title. I was leading before this round and despite no podiums I have been able to finish all the 3 race of this weekend at decent places. This season has been very successful for me and I look forward to more racing in the future.”

2013 Volkswagen Polo R Cup Champion

Champion of 2013 season, Rahil Noorani has been offered a seat for the whole season of JK Tyre FB 02 2014 and a guest drive at Volkswagen Scirocco R-Cup 2014. Jeffrey Kruger was announced the Star of Volkswagen Polo R Cup 2013 and has been offered a Guest drive at the Volkswagen Golf R Cup 2014 in Europe. Yatin Magu has been offered a fully sponsored seat for the next season of Volkswagen Polo R Cup.

Race 2 of this round started with Angad Singh Matharoo on pole alongside New Delhi youngster Lee Keshav Gupta. Both front row drivers got overtaken at the start, allowing third placed driver Gaurav Mehta to jump into the lead as they headed into the first corner. Lee slotted into second place with fast starting Jeffrey Kruger up to second place at the end of lap 1. Jeffrey made his move on Lee on lap 2 and moved in to second place and looking to challenge Gaurav. However the lap was red-flagged on lap 4 when Samarth Jaiswal’s Race Polo made contact on the rear left and flipped multiple times at the penultimate corner. Fortunately the driver walked away unhurt. The race could not restart and Gaurav was adjudged the winner. Jeffrey finished in second place ahead of an impressive Lee who took his second podium of the season.

Race 2 winner Gaurav Mehta commented, “This is probably one of the biggest days of my life. It felt amazing to stand on the top step of the podium. I felt really proud when I heard the Indian national anthem playing for me. I wanted to prove a point after last round’s incident and I am glad I could show people that I have what it takes to win.”

2013 Volkswagen Polo R Cup

Race 3 saw Jeffrey Kruger on pole position with Karthik Tharani Singh in second place. Jeffrey continued his string of great starts to keep the lead after turn 1 followed by Robyn Kruger and Rahil Noorani. Rahil got a great run on Robyn and managed to pass her on lap 3. Slow starting Karthik Tharani Singh who had slipped down to fourth place also started to put pressure on Robyn. The next lap he also made a move and made it stick as he moved into third position. Meanwhile behind them Prashanth Tharani Singh and Angad Singh Matharoo collided forcing Prashanth to go off and lose positions. Jeffrey crossed the finish line with another brilliant performance with Rahil and Karthkl taking the other two steps on the podium.

“It was another great day of racing for me. The car has been perfect all weekend so I would like to thank the entire Volkswagen team for giving me this opportunity. As I said earlier I love driving on this track and today the crowd played a big role as there were so many people cheering us on. I have had a very good experience driving in India and will take back only positives from here.” said Jeffrey Kruger

Prithviraj Siddappa, Head of Motorsports, said, “We had a brilliant ending to the 2013 Volkswagen Polo R Cup. Congratulations to Rahil Noorani for winning the title as he has been the most consistent driver throughout the season. It is great to see youngsters like Gaurav winning and Lee on the podium. Our objective has always been to develop young drivers and the entire team can be extremely proud of the job that they have done. Everyone has worked really hard this year and the results show for itself.

2013 Volkswagen Polo R Cup Champion Yatin Magu wins

In the Ultima Queens Cup featuring top lady drivers from Europe in Volkswagen Race Polo TDI cars, Dutch Sheila Verschuur stole the show in both the races by wining by big margins.

Race 2 of Round 3 result (provisional):

Pos.Car No.Driver Name (City)Best LapTotal TimeGap
120Gaurav Mehta (Pune)2:30.54512:06.8314 laps
28Jeffrey Kruger (Johannesburg)2:29.56212:08.6051.774
36Lee Keshav Gupta (New Delhi)2:31.14012:11.7454.914
41Rahil Noorani (Mumbai)2:29.37912:14.1007.269
525Robyn Kruger (Johanesburg)2:30.64012:16.7769.945
69Prashanth Tharani2:30.67712:19.31112.480
718Niranjan Todkari (Aurangabad)2:30.98812:24.00217.171
84Kartik Tharani (Chennai)2:30.35412:26:58619.755
910Yatin Magu (New Delhi)2:32.96612:30.33623.505
1017Hanoosh Surapaneni (Hyderabad)2:34.56112:35.32728.496
1121Adnan Lehry (Chennai)2:32.99212:37.72630.895
1214Anshul Shah (Nagpur)2:36.76812:39.67432.843
132Angad Singh Matharoo (Chandigarh)2:30.36512:41.09134.260
1412Divijraj Thakran (Gurgaon)2:34.03612:42.26135.430
1511Shivjeet Malik (Gurgaon)2:39.07812:45.39538.564
1616Venkatesh Shreyas(Coimbatore)2:42.58812:47.45840.627
175Gowdham Raj (Coimbatore)2:34.45912:51.98645.155

Not classified

1223Rakesh Ramkunar (Chennai)2:33.27705:21.8312 laps
73M S Prince (New Delhi)2:33.74305:24.1042.273
167Samarth Jaiswal2:34.02505:26.2094.378

Race 3 of Round 4 result (provisional):

Pos.Car No.Driver Name (City)Best LapTotal TimeGap
18Jeffrey Kruger (Johannesburg)2:28.05919:49.3818 laps
21Rahil Noorani (Mumbai)2:28.77019:59.0329.651
34Kartik Tharani (Chennai)2:28.45420:01.40312.022
425Robyn Kruger (Johannesburg)2:29.76720:08.75419.373
52Angad Singh Matharoo (Chandigarh)2:29.75720:13.52524.144
618Niranjan Todkari (Aurangabad)2:30.90620:19,24829.867
710Yatin Magu (New Delhi)2:30.99720:22.35032.969
89Prashanth Tharani2:30.85720:22.62133.240
912Divijraj Thakran (Gurgaon)2:32.05720:29.75340.372
1020Gaurav Mehta (Pune)2:31.03520:30.12340.742
116Lee Keshav Gupta (New Delhi)2:31.19620:30.55741.176
1217Hanoosh Surapaneni (Hyderabad)2:31.88120:33.87344.492
135Gowdham Raj (Coimbatore)2:32.38220:35.38846.007
1421Adnan Lehry (Chennai)2:32.07820:35.60546.224
1511Shivjeet Malik (Gurgaon)2:32.04920:36.61747.236
1614Anshul Shah (Nagpur)2:32.82120:43.01553.634
173M S Prince (New Delhi)2:33.92220:47.55058.169
1816Venkatesh Shreyas(Coimbatore)2:35.69620:59.7061:10.325

Not classified

1223Rakesh Ramkunar (Chennai)2:33.277--
167Samarth Jaiswal2:33.277--

Rahil Noorani crowned 2013 Volkswagen Polo R Cup Champion

Used Volkswagen Car For Sale :
New Volkswagen Car For Sale
Exclusive Car Deals From Indian Drives
  Get Quick Loan  
  Volkswagen Used Cars  
  Get Insurance Quote  
  Volkswagen Car Service Centers  
  Book a Test Drive  
  Get on Road Price  
  Get Discount  
  Volkswagen New Car Dealers  
  Ask Question  

Similar Articles

  • No Related Post

Give your Review on this Car

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


CommentLuv badge
Follow Us