Super XUV500 of Team Mahindra Adventure creates history – wins 12th edition of Desert Storm

One after the other, this time Mahindra blazed a historic trail in the Thar Desert at the 12th edition of Desert Storm. Team Mahindra Adventure’s Super XUV500 finished fastest and became the overall champions of Desert Storm 2014.

After the recent string of wins at the Indian National Rally Championship SUV category (INSUVRC), the Super XUV500 proved its mettle yet again when it finished 1st in the Xtreme category of Desert Storm 2014. Driven by multi-time Desert Storm winner Sunny Sidhu (Driver) & PVS Murthy (Co-driver), the Super XUV500 proved that whatever maybe the terrain, the cheetah is the fastest!


Sunny Sidhu / P.V.S. Murthy (Mahindra Adventure) Position 1 (12:47:42)
Sandeep Sharma / Varun Davessar (Team Thunderbolt) Position 2 (13:08:20)
Amarjeet Pal Buwal / Nakul Mendiratta (Team Thunderbolt) Position 3 (13:13.34)
Lohitt Urs / K. Kumar (Mahindra Adventure) Position 4 (13:18:35)

Desert Storm

Super XUV500 created history by becoming the first ever diesel vehicle to win the Desert Storm rally. Contrary to the belief that diesel cars are non-competitive against petrol cars, the Super XUV500 wiped out competition with ease.

Last year Mahindra Adventure bagged the 2nd, 3rd & 4th places in the 11th edition of the Desert Storm. And with this year’s triumph, it has proved yet again that it is indeed beauty with brawn.

Commenting on the success of the XUV500, Mr. Vivek Nayer, Chief Marketing Officer, Automotive Division, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd. said, “After annihilating the competition at the INSUVRC, with this spectacular win at the Desert Storm 2014 the cheetah inspired Super XUV500 has unmistakably marked its territory in the extreme rally-raid format in India. The Super XUV500 is on a winning streak and will continue to create history and make & break records in times to come. We dedicate this unprecedented win to millions of Mahindra customers & fans across the nation.”

The Desert Storm is one of the toughest and most popular rallies in the country given the conditions, tough stages and spectacular terrain ranging from desert stretches and vast salt flats to dirt tracks. This year the rally route ran for over 3000KM across locations like Sadarseher, Bikaner, Jaisalmer & Jaipur.

In all there are 55 teams in Xtreme category, 30 teams in Ndure and 20 teams in Xplore category.

[nggallery id=186]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.