BS-IV Emission Norms to become Mandatory by April 2017

Ministry of road Transport and Highways (MRTH) has issued a notification according to which Bharat Stage IV (BS-IV) emission norms will become mandatory in all vehicles being sold and registered seven states from October this year. The notification also states that the ministry is planning to roll out BS-IV across the country by April 2017.

Currently BS-IV norms are being implemented in all metros along with some Tier-I cities. From October 1st this year states such as J&K (except Kargil and Leh districts), Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Haryana, and Uttarakhand will come under the purview of this latest emission norm, while some areas of Rajasthan as well as UP will also be brought under it.

BS-IV Emission Norms to become Mandatory by April 2017

In the future, the government is planning to make this mandatory in states like Goa, Karnataka, Kerala, Odisha, Telangana and in the UTs of Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and in certain districts of Maharashtra including Thane and Pune as well as certain parts of Gujarat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.