Sir William Lyons Award Winner Announced as Ian Callum Recieves President’s Trophy at Guild Awards 2013

The Guild of Motoring Writers (GoMW) Annual Dinner and Awards 2013, held at the Royal Automobile Club in London, saw Jaguar Executives both present and receive special honours.

The first was the presentation of the GoMW Jaguar Sir William Lyons Award by Jaguar Land Rover Head of Global PR Communications Fiona Pargeter and Guild Chairman, Richard Aucock to budding young motoring journalist Ciaran O’Donnell Anderson, 19, from Heswall, Merseyside.

Fiona Pargeter, said: “All six finalists really impressed us with their talents and understanding of modern motoring journalism, but Ciaran’s work stood out for its very original and engaging style – huge congratulations to him as he embarks on a career that many dream of but only few achieve.”

Sir William Lyons Award Winner Announced

Ciaran entered the competition by writing an analysis piece on ‘What Defines a Premium Car in 2013’ and was shortlisted with five other finalists.  The final six went on to conduct a two-week editorial campaign around their features, using modern social media methods to promote, debate and develop their work.  Three were then selected following the social media campaign, and subsequently assessed by a panel representing the GoMW and award sponsor Jaguar.  Ciaran was selected as the winner, with fellow entrant Rachael Hogg highly commended.

Guild of Motoring Writers Chairman, Richard Aucock, said: “I would like to thank Jaguar Land Rover for sponsoring this special award. We changed the format of the Sir William Lyons Award slightly this year to include a modern social media element, which we believe has given the finalists more opportunity to showcase their talents and in turn the Guild more opportunity to promote the skills of new and up-and-coming writers.”

Receiving his award, Ciaran O’Donnell Anderson said: “I feel honoured to join a group of award winners that date back to 1966 when Jaguar’s founder Sir William Lyons established this initiative for budding young motoring journalists.  If I can go on to achieve what many previous winners have accomplished in this industry, it will be a dream come true.”

Sir William Lyons Award
Jaguar Design Director, Ian Callum, was also honoured with the President’s Trophy, awarded by Guild President Nick Mason in consultation with the Guild Committee for outstanding achievement in the field of international automobilism.

Presenting the trophy to Ian Callum, Nick Mason said: “This year, the trophy is going to the man who perhaps more than any other has shaped the look of many of the cars that we all drive each day – someone who had already decided on his future career by the age 14 – Ian Callum.

“Ian’s back catalogue includes greats such as the Aston Martin DB7, the breakthrough Jaguar XF and the stunning Jaguar F-TYPE: he’s led the design revolution at Jaguar that has helped transform the brand and leaves it on the cusp of the biggest product breakthrough in its history.  Outstanding achievements indeed and a fitting recipient of the 2013 Guild of Motoring Writers President’s Trophy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.