VW launches TSI Race Polo for the 2012 Polo R Cup

Motorsport enthusiasts have much to cheer about. Volkswagen Motorsport Company rolled out its latest TSI Race Polo for the Polo R Cup 2012.

Volkswagen has invited 20 race drivers to compete in this year’s championship. The race which is in its third year promises to be as successful as the last two races. The difference this time around is the plethora of changes which Volkswagen has decided upon. A controversial decision is to switch from diesel to petrol engines for the Race Polo. The first race will take place on July 7, 2012 and the cars will be flagged off at the Kari Motorsport Speedway in Coimbatore, India. The Formula One race track, the Buddh International Circuit, will play host to the second round and other rounds will be in MMRT, Chennai.

The race should be an exciting proposition for the young drivers as the switch to petrol engines would enhance speed and make the race more appealing to the audience.The Polo vehicle is powered with a 1.4 liter petrol 4-cylinder engine, a direct shift gear box capable of revving up to 180 hp at 600 revolutions per minute. Additionally, this model is a two-wheel driveand can attain a maximum torque of 250Nm.

VW launches TSI Race Polo for the 2012 Polo R Cup

This year the race has been divided into three categories – Junior, Pro and Master. The qualification criteria is that the drivers has to be between the age of 16 and 26 years, with experience limited to under 8 races or less in a National Championship event in the last 5 years.

The categories would depend on the age of the drivers.

While announcing the races, Mr. John Chacko of Volkswagen India said, “We are delighted to present the new TSI Race Polo 2012 along with the 20 promising drivers today. With the immense success of the inaugural Indian GP, India is establishing itself as a motorsport hub and we are happy to play our role in promoting the same. Volkswagen is committed to developing motorsport in India along with the young talent through our Polo R Cup program. We had an excellent season last year and we are looking forward to the upcoming season.”

Prize money for race winners would be Rs.50K, Rs.40K and Rs.30K for the first second and third places respectively. The entry fee is a bit steep as the organizers are charging Rs.7 Lakhs for Junior and Pro categories while the Masters Entry fee is a whopping Rs.14 Lakhs. However, each driver can display the Race Polo Insignia and the fee would be waived.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.